Operation Lose The Baby Weight

When i got pregnant, i swore i wouldn’t gain a lot of weight. And i didn’t. 28 pounds. I’m VERY proud of that. Especially towards the end of my pregnancy, when i was eating EVERYTHING. I was working awful hours in my retail job, during the HOLIDAYS (for those of you who work retail adn know how much that sucks!). I was too tired to cook and clean at home, or even grocery shop, so i’d eat at the mall. In the food court. I loved my McDonald’s breakfast. Taco Bell lunches. Snacks. Sodas. Yeah, you name it, i ate it. So, 28 pounds, not bad!

By the time i left the hospital, i had lost a lot of that 28 pounds. When i stepped on the scale, maybe 2 weeks later, i was psyched. I had maybe 12 or 14 pounds left to lose to get back to pre-pregnancy weight.

Then, my struggles began. All of the doctors, and the lack of (baby’s) weight gain, and the horrible breastfeeding issues. And of course, the daily life of a mommy taking care of a baby. All of it wore on me. In trying to take care of him, take care of my self, keep my milk supply up — i ate. And ate, and ate. I didn’t exercise. Sure, i took a few walks, but i didn’t “exercise”. I even started a “diet”, and after 2 weeks of losing a few, gaining them back, and cycling through that… all i did was take a hit on my milk supply. So i went back to focusing on that, and ended up gaining 10 MORE POUNDS.

Now, 5 months after i have given birth, i’m trying to really lose this weight. I’m up to about the weight i was at right before i gave birth. So, i have about 30 pounds to lose to get to pre-pregnancy weight. (And then, i’d like to lose a few more)

So here’s what i’m going to do. I’m going to work the weight off. Today is day 3 of my workout plan. I’m doing 30 Day Shred, by Jillian Michaels. I do it at 5am, after i’ve cleaned the house. Even though i’m SORE, and it HURTS, i did it again this morning. And it feels SO GOOD afterwards. Along with that, i’m walking every morning at 1oam, for about 30 minutes.

And most of all, i’m NOT stepping on the scale. I AM eating healthier, but i’m EATING, and not “dieting”.

I feel good. I can do this.

My new running sneakers & workout clothes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

