Christmas Traditions.

This year has been a whirlwind for us, for sure. Just over 10 months ago, we had a baby.

And just like that, life changed.

It was at that point, that I wanted to make the most of every day. Whether it be a normal don’t-go-anywhere and sit-around-in-sweatpants day, or a dressed-up holiday, I wanted to celebrate it the best we could.

I’m a sucker for things like “Baby’s 1st Halloween” bibs, and “Baby’s 1st Christmas” outfits. Of course, things don’t always go as planned, like our Halloween being “postponed” because of snow (in October!? Really!), and my kid being born only about a month after Christmas, so finding a “1st Christmas” outfit in size 12 months is nearly impossible. (I guess they figure that if they’re wearing 12 month clothes — it’s not their first Christmas?? Carter’s — what’s up with that??)

So, with that said, pretty much the biggest holiday of the year is quickly approaching.

And I have to admit, this is the first year in a VERY long time, that I’m excited for Christmas. There, I said it. I haven’t been excited about the holidays in a long time. But this year is different.

I want to start traditions this year (as I’ve mentioned in a previous post, also). We decided we’d put the tree and decorations up the day after Thanksgiving. We totally succeeded. Black Friday morning, we woke up, grabbed some hot chocolate, and headed out. We did a little shopping, came home for lunch, and then in the afternoon ordered pizza and put up our tree. We set up our nativity, and put up our stockings. Right down to tiny details, like tiny snowmen candles on the kitchen counters, placemats on the kitchen table, and my red tablecloth in the dining room.

I also want to start traditions like baking Christmas cookies together right before Christmas — with a few special ones to leave out for Santa. Or reading a special Christmas book before bed that night. Or making a special “Christmas” breakfast. These are the things that get my “mama brain” going. I want to be crafty and creative and do all of these special things for my kids.

So far, so good. I feel ahead of the game. Christmas decorations have been up since the day after Thanksgiving. All of our shopping for the baby is done. Christmas cookie cutters are out on the counter, and we’ve done a “trial run” once already (note to self: roll dough out thicker for better cookies).

Our Christmas tree, 2011.

 

Now tell me. What are some of YOUR traditions? Leave me a comment and let me know!

[If you liked this blog post, click on the button to vote for us on http://www.topmommyblogs.com!]

Leave a comment

Filed under holidays, traditions

Leave a Reply

